Right off the edge of the Penrissen road and pretty nearby to Kampung Git and Kampung Benuk. The villages of Kampung Giam Lama are connected by a long suspension bridge and they both share a same ancestral root. The Giam villages have their own unique attractions to wow visitors that include a rich cultural heritage, a complex cave system, a series of gushing rapids, as well as its own waterfall.
Kampung Giam Lama
In the 1900s, a group of people from Bung Ko, joined by another group from Sebayat/Gigi formed the village “Kampung Boyan”. However, in the late 1930s, many women died at labor due to the lack of medicine. Seeing this, the Tuk Kampung or village chief brought the villagers out and settled at Giam river. There they built a new longhouse and a Panggah (ceremonial house). The name Giam actually derived from the Bidayuh word for rapids.
The second White Rajah of Sarawak, Sir Charles Brooke actually built a bungalow at the top of a small hill near Kampung Giam which was dismantled prior to the Japanese invasion in 1941 by the villagers. In 1990 the longhouse was finally dismantled to give way to individual houses.
Kampung Giam Baru
The name of the village basically mean new Giam village. This is due to the fact that in 1976, a huge flood broke out in Kampung Giam and a lot of low-lying houses were submerged. Soneg anak Sorat then led the affected households to Pedu hill and the area beside Jalan Penrissen. Together they formed the new Giam village.
Source: History of Bidayuh in Kuching Division, Sarawak by Dr. Chang Pat Foh
What can you expect to find in the villages of rapids? Here’s a thing or two for a sneak peek:
1. The magnificent Giam river
2. Giam waterfall
3. Penot cave system